Children must be taught what they used to be taught..

I’ve seen a couple of articles like this in the Times, Tellygiraffe etc over the last few days..

image

This does baffle me a little bit.

I don’t have kids, so I’m not in touch with what they teach these days but, when I went to school in the 80s, I distinctly remember being taught about how to evaluate sources of evidence. It was a foundational lesson in both English lessons and history lessons. I learned this stuff in primary school and it was regularly reinforced during secondary (grammar) school. It was institutional, in all the textbooks.

Are teachers, texts and curricula that useless now that kids do not receive these vital lessons? Are they too busy teaching kids that it’s okay to be a transsexual pangalactic polarbear to equip them with basic analytical faculties?

If so, it’s probably evidence of something. Perhaps the educational establishment has, in the fog of politically correct horseshit,  lost sight of its basic responsibility.

I left 6th form in 1990. I could see which way the wind was blowing and, on the day we wandered up the road to the pub with our A-Level results in our hands, I reflected to my friends that we may have just got the last decent education that the British state would offer.

The more I see, the more I think I might have been right.

Shame.

AJ

About Al Jahom
Anti-social malcontent, misanthrope and miserable git.

3 Responses to Children must be taught what they used to be taught..

  1. PJH says:

    “Are they too busy teaching kids that it’s okay to be a transsexual pangalactic polarbear to equip them with basic analytical faculties?”

    It’s probably because if they taught them basic analytics, then the kids would realise for themselves the nonsense about being a “non-binary bi-gender androgynous trans-kin vulpine” and refuse to be brainwashed into being a snowflake.

  2. patently says:

    Speaking as someone who does have kids…

    “Are they too busy teaching kids that it’s okay to be a transsexual pangalactic polarbear to equip them with basic analytical faculties?”

    Yes.

    “Perhaps the educational establishment has, in the fog of politically correct horseshit, lost sight of its basic responsibility”

    Yes.

Leave a Reply

