Mad cat lady outed.

simpsons_crazycatlady1234498926[1]

Mary Bale must be rueing her impulsive decision to put that cat in a wheelie-bin.

Commenters on my post yesterday observed that her anonymity would be fleeting, and they were right.

But I have to say, she’s not doing a very good job of showing contrition.

image

A woman caught on camera dropping a tabby cat into her owners’ wheelie bin said today that she didn’t know what all the fuss is about.

Mary Bale is now focus of a vitriolic campaign on Facebook with postings calling for her death, describing her as "evil" and "a psycho" and demanding she be sacked from her job as a customer services assistant with the Royal Bank of Scotland.

But the 45-year-old, who is the subject of an RSPCA investigation and is said to live just half a mile from the scene of the cat’s 15-hour incarceration in Coventry, told the Sun that she did "not deserve to be hated" for her moment of madness". People were over-reacting, she said.

Opprobrium aside, it’s really quite an odd occurrence, isn’t it? The kind of thing you’d expect a daft, thoughtless, idiot teenager. Not a grown woman. Or an overgrown woman for that matter. I suspect she’s somewhat developmentally disabled.

"I really don’t see what everyone is getting so excited about. It’s just a cat," Bale said.

Bale added: ""People are reading too much into things. I’ve no feelings about cats one way or the other. I don’t keep pets myself, but I have no problem with people who do.

"To think this video is being seen around the world is unbelievable. I’m a very private person and don’t want to upset any members of my family. I don’t know what my relatives will think, but to be honest I think everyone’s overreacting a bit.

"OK, I shouldn’t have done it, but it’s just a cat at the end of the day. I don’t think I deserve to be hated by people all over the world, it was just a split second of madness."

On balance, as much of a hateful shit-bag as I think she is, I’m inclined to agree with her.

Wanting her strung up is rather out of proportion with what she’s done. Perhaps we should settle for amputating one of her arms at the elbow. Or should we take the whole bingo wing?

Jack of Kent finds reason to disagree with West Midlands Police’s claim that she hasn’t committed any criminal offence, so as I said originally, let’s hope the RSPCA do their evil worst with her.

AJ

About Al Jahom
Anti-social malcontent, misanthrope and miserable git.

12 Responses to Mad cat lady outed.

  1. Pam Nash says:

    ‘I suspect she’s somewhat developmentally disabled.’

    That makes sense of the fact that she works as a cashier for RBS at their Rugby branch! But, seriously, I wonder if, by her actions, she’s brought her employer into (even more) disrepute?

  2. Bucko says:

    Bingo wing. LOL
    I doubt anyone hated as much as her (for whatever reason) could hold down a job in customer service for very long.

    • Any business faced with this dilemma about an employee would normally argue that what employees do in their private time is none of the company’s concern. I can’t see any reason why it would be different here.

      • Having just read a little bit more about the story, she says the bank’s been in touch with her already about this, saying “I’ve had my boss ringing to ask me what’s going on, and I’ve had to talk to the bank’s security people about what to do if people who think I hurt the cat try to find me. Everything has gone crazy because of a stupid spur-of-the- moment thing I did – but I know I only have myself to blame.”

        It’s worrying to think that there are people out there so utterly fucking stupid. She did something daft, she didn’t kill anyone. Not sure whether I’m convinced by The Sun’s line that she could be sacked for this, however.

      • Al Jahom says:

        Absolutely agree, but I bet she’ll be working in the back office until this all dies down a bit.

  3. Chochoooo says:

    Sorry what?

    If she hasnt broken any law, do we really want a private orginistion being able to sue her over what they think “should” be a crime.

    She put a cat in a bin.

    Farmer McBigBusiness put 2 million pigs and cows in a cage the size of their body, and then killed them.

    Every year.

    Only 1 of them recieves worldwide personal vilification.

    By the same people that eat the pig meat.

    Yes, yes ones a pet blablalba.

  4. Angry Exile says:

    Twenty foot shipping container, stood on its end. Drop her in the top. Shut the doors. Let her out 16 hours later. Can’t get much more in proportion to the crime than that.

  5. Not the Mary I used to know.

  6. Pingback: Cat-Bin Lady Backstory « Al Jahom's Final Word

Leave a Reply

