I wonder why smarter people drink more

… and smarter women in particular.

 image[4]

"Both males and females who achieved high-level performance in test scores administered at ages five and 10 are significantly more likely to abuse alcohol than individuals who performed poorly on those tests," says the report, in the journal Social Science and Medicine.

Whereas women with medium or high childhood test scores were up to 2.1 times more likely to have a drink most days, men who scored similarly-high scores were only 49 per cent more likely to do so.

I had written a whole cod-psychology post about this, but it was so fist-chewingly awful, I’ve shelved it until I’m inspired to sort it out.

Suffice it to say, the above article doesn’t contain any insights that I found particularly enlightening, but here’s one from me.

The cleverest people realise most acutely how fucked we all are and how fucked everything is. Ergo they drink more.

Oh and they probably earn more money too. Which they’d probably not blow on truckloads of wine, were it not for the fact that we’re all fucked, and doomed to live to 100 years old in penury and under 24 hour surveillance.

AJ

About Al Jahom
Anti-social malcontent, misanthrope and miserable git.

3 Responses to I wonder why smarter people drink more

  1. Clearly, you recall the Boisdales get-together; I was so clever I could barely stand up.

  2. saltedslug says:

    To paraphrase the less turgid Hitchens brother: “I drink to make other people less boring”.

Leave a Reply

